Waiting times for Hospital Referrals too long

Quicker access  to First time Appts to Consultants could be more time appropriate.

Do we need more Consultants, for the busiest clinics, Diabetes, Endroclinologist, Rheumatology and others, I know that some people have terribly long waits...some a year or two, and others six to twelve months, and others who are able to pay privately go and get seen within two or three weeks. 

I don't blame them, being unwell and feeling that no help for months is totally unacceptable.

we can and should do better.

Why the contribution is important

To improve stands of care.

cannot we have Gold standards of care here on the Island .

more staff, easier access, NHS tax?

by Fenella on July 02, 2018 at 08:03PM

Current Rating

4.88888888889
Average score : 4.8
Based on : 9 votes

Comments

  • Posted by CLB July 06, 2018 at 21:35

    I think the waiting lists for essential services needs to be monitored and standards set in place and stuck to with the right people held to account.

    This should include a minimum number of NHS appointments per day/week, which would help us move away from claims (fact or myth) that consultants cancel NHS appointments so that they can see private patients instead.
  • Posted by ManxGP July 09, 2018 at 22:47

    It is a bit of a myth that the few IOM Consultants that see private patients do so at the detriment of their NHS commitments -they see them in their own time. Most medical staff work hours in excess of what most employed people would think reasonable often to the detriment of their health and very occasionally the patient's. The current routine waiting lists in many specialties are unacceptably long and require a combination of increased resource and smarter working and a lot of smarter working requires investment in resource or seed money ,which all aspects of the Manx NHS has been starved of for many years because the Treasury hasn't had the political will to revenue raise for this purpose in case they reduce economic activity. To requote something said about the UK NHS at 70 recently we are getting a second rate service in world terms but only paying for a 3rd rate one ie getting remarkable value for money. Imagine what we could get if we funded it reasonably and didn't waste to extra resource we invested.
  • Posted by JB July 17, 2018 at 10:08

    The longer they get, the more people are inclined to go private if possible, as when you are ill, waiting for months and years is simply not acceptable.
  • Posted by IK July 25, 2018 at 14:00

    I've (at time of writing) been waiting 2 whole years for a Neurologist, for pain which my GP and DoHSC are aware cripples me every week.

    This waiting has kept me out of work for this same period. I've had to be rehoused by a local charity. I've had to put my bank account into debt recovery, and I certainly cannot afford to go private.

    As a result of this, during this time I tried, on my GP's advice, to self-refer myself to Mental Health, I was told, after waiting 4 weeks for a phone call back for triage, that "I was far too depressed for them to refer me onwards and that I should go back to my doctor" (who, once I got an appointment for them 4 weeks later, told me this was incorrect as he could not refer me) - 6 months after a friend thankfully picked up my case and managed to get me to the Crisis Team, where they managed to refer me to see a psychologist - 8 months after initially trying to be referred - who advised me that what I really needed was CBT, but that CBT is not available as there's no money for it.

    I'm still waiting to see the specific community Psychologist my GP wanted me to see as my GP felt this was the best long term, and I have no idea if I'm even on a waiting list for this anymore as the GP surgery advised me that I'd missed a psychology appointment, which they'd sent to my old address - as (the surgery advised) although I'd changed my address with them, the system hadn't updated other departments. The GP couldn't tell me which department I needed to contact as "they didn't know".

    My GP has pushed for both the referrals at every appointment I've had with him in those 2 years (approx. every 2 months) and still nothing, not even a letter or call saying "we have received your referral", and he himself has not had any contact from them to advise why not.

    At present, I feel the IOM Government/DoHSC has deposited me on the side of a road until I die, I'm on a daily "diet" of antidepressants, pain killers, beta blockers and medication to stop the pain killers from eating my stomach.

    I'm alive -and still waiting for a neurologist- today due to friends, not because of the Health Service.

    All of this seems to point to 3 things:
    1. Lack of IOM Based healthcare specialists.
    (due to) 2. Lack of funding.
    3. MASSIVE lack of any coherent inter-health-department communications or modernisation.
  • Posted by PhilIOMGov August 03, 2018 at 09:56

    Focus groups and workshops are being arranged to consider key aspects of the review in more detail. A cross-section of the local community is needed to represent views from different perspectives. If you would like to participate in a workshop related to this topic please contact the Independent Review’s Secretariat at DHSCReview@gov.im to be added to a contact list. The focus groups and workshops will support the overall gathering of evidence and be used to determine a practical and workable model for the future.
  • Posted by litcham August 03, 2018 at 11:01

    From family experiences, the waiting times can be up to 2 years to see a Consultant. I gave up and went private. Shouldn't have to do this.
  • Posted by WhoMann August 04, 2018 at 14:54

    I have been in pain and practically unable to walk since November 2017, after initial misdiagnosis by GP I was given an URGENT referral to the Rheumatologist in February. A couple of weeks ago I received my appointment for November 2018! Where I suffer from suspected Rheumatoid Arthritis an early diagnosis and treatment are regarded as essential to minimise the effects of this disabling disorder.

    Urgent referrals should mean within a month or so and no more than three in my opinion! ONE year or more is unacceptable!
  • Posted by Manxmargaret August 06, 2018 at 13:43

    As far as I am aware, in parts of England, patients have to receive an initial appointment to be seen within so many weeks of being referred. At least if that happens, the Consultant can determine how urgent the case is and refer them on to the waiting list accordingly. Our daughter was 33 and suffering terribly with hip pain. She had already waited way over a year to see the Consultant and even after that, the appointment just kept being put back. When she did eventually see him, he was staggered how bad her hip was. She was in so much pain she couldn't sleep properly or walk any distance and latterly was having falls as her hip was collapsing. Once the Consultant saw her, she was referred very quickly for an operation but she now suffers from back problems and I feel she walked with a terrible limp for so long that has caused the back situation.
  • Posted by manxklookie August 07, 2018 at 14:16

    Some of the waits to see the specialists after a referral are far too long and the patient's condition often worsens during that time and requires more intervention to fix in the long term. The other irritating thing is that is it practically impossible to find out where you are in any waiting list or any indication when an appointment is likely...9 time out of 10 you get an appointment while on holiday and then miss it. There needs to be more transparency around the referral process and an easier way to check progress and likely appointment times. If the service fails to meet target waiting list times then maybe the patient should be entitled to a refund of NHI paid by way of compensation which may be used towards private treatment instead.
  • Posted by Nicola2IOMGov September 11, 2018 at 19:51

    Hospital appointments are slow and I think that communication between GPs and hospital needs to be looked at.

    [Feedback received through offline engagement and 5* rating attributed - Site moderator].
  • Posted by Nicola2IOMGov September 11, 2018 at 20:10

    It is not acceptable to have to wait 22 1/2 weeks for a referral to respiratory doctor when according to the NHS 18 weeks is the maximum waiting time for someone with bronchiectasis.

    [Feedback received through offline engagement and 5* rating attributed - Site moderator].
Log in or register to add comments and rate ideas