Improved mental health access

Increase ease of access of mental health services, including increased capacity for acute care (number of available beds should not determine ability to access services)

Why the contribution is important

Limitations of access and gate-keeping of services has potential to result in fatal consequences

by lauren on June 21, 2018 at 10:57AM

Current Rating

5.0
Average score : 5.0
Based on : 8 votes

Comments

  • Posted by BK June 28, 2018 at 22:03

    Year long waiting lists for those that need counselling/ psychology support is outrageous ; issues need dealing with promptly. Employ adequate staffing to cope with demand.
  • Posted by hj June 30, 2018 at 17:06

    CAMHS is totally overloaded and more needs to be done to enable children not to wait over 6 months to be assessed. This could save money in the long run as it would enable intervention at an earlier point.
  • Posted by JB July 02, 2018 at 08:57

    When people need mental health care, it is no good making them wait as they might not even be alive to receive care when they have to wait such long times. It really is crucial that they can be seen right away and dealt with accordingly.
  • Posted by PhilIOMGov July 13, 2018 at 12:34

    There is not enough investment in mental health care on the Island:-
     Long waits for treatment.

    Mental health issues are now most common reason for GP consultations, and growing year on year.

    [Feedback received through offline engagement and five star rating attributed - Site moderator]
  • Posted by IK July 25, 2018 at 17:52

    I waited 4 weeks to be told on the triage phone call that "I was too depressed for them to refer me, I'd have to make an appointment with my GP" ... I replied "My GP told me to contact you"... they replied "I'm sorry you're too [far gone] for us to refer you to anyone else"

    So, in summary, yes.
  • Posted by prauseev August 01, 2018 at 21:49

    I agree with everything said, GPs are not able to deal with Mental health issues other than prescribing medications, this is especially in children totally inappropriate..
  • Posted by PhilIOMGov August 03, 2018 at 09:53

    Focus groups and workshops are being arranged to consider key aspects of the review in more detail. A cross-section of the local community is needed to represent views from different perspectives. If you would like to participate in a workshop related to this topic please contact the Independent Review’s Secretariat at DHSCReview@gov.im to be added to a contact list. The focus groups and workshops will support the overall gathering of evidence and be used to determine a practical and workable model for the future.
  • Posted by manxklookie August 07, 2018 at 11:27

    Despite all the blurb on Government web pages about the importance of tackling mental health issues at an early stage, there is little evidence of any practical application of that intent e.g. long waiting lists for professional help from CAHMS, school nurse having to get additional training in mental healthcare following the withdrawal of a specialist mental health school nurse, approval forms going missing re parental consent resulting in delays etc. The standard response from GP's is medication and that often worsens the feelings of the child initially and then there are the side effects and weaning off after a period of time. The root cause doesn't really get tackled.
Log in or register to add comments and rate ideas