Doctors Surgeries open 7 days a week with longer opening hours.

GP Surgeries to open eralier in the day close later in the day and open with doctors available 7 days a week.

GP's to work shift patterns to cover the additional hours

More Practice nurses

generally more GP appointments

Specialised clinc times for patients who need to be seen at regular intervals to free up space and time for individuals who need to seen seen on the day or within a few days due to the onset of illness.

physio and other services to be offered at the Prcatice

 

Why the contribution is important

People are not only unwell 08.30 -6pm monday to friday.

if more GP's were available less people woudl attend A&E for illness that is not an emergency.

the poulation that work 9 to 5.30 have more opportunity to see a doctor

patients hwho need regular reviews/checks can be seen in clincs on designated days without impacting on people who become unwell and need to see a Doctor.

complimentary therapies to be undertaken at clinics rather than referred to Hospital.

 

by PID2 on June 28, 2018 at 12:42PM

Current Rating

Average rating: 3.6
Based on: 13 votes

Comments

  • Posted by NatureGeek June 28, 2018 at 13:13

    Even if you kept Sundays and Bank Holidays as staying closed, having maybe two later and two earlier opening times within a Monday to Saturday week would be a big help.
  • Posted by eric June 28, 2018 at 13:18

    Agree need opening times more appropriate for working people - but also need to appreciate that it will cost more getting doctors/nurses to work unsociable hours.
  • Posted by CQ June 28, 2018 at 13:56

    Extended hours would reduce the use of MEDS which would be a large cost saver. Is MEDS really a sustainable service?
  • Posted by TheBellhop June 28, 2018 at 15:30

    Agree to a certain degree - if GP appointments were available from 7am-7pm, i think this would reduce some of the impact on A&E and MannDoc
  • Posted by PID2 June 28, 2018 at 15:35

    with GP's more available it would be hoped that the use of MEDs and A&E would reduce and therefore the cost savings there would pay for the additional cost for GP Practices. MEDs may not be needed if it worked well.
    Also seeing a doctor sooner may have an impact on the amount of sick leave taken by employees and self employed workers. the number of working hours lost a year costs the economy and employers dearly every year.
    Doctors would not be expected to work longer hours just different working patterns.
      
  • Posted by LeanGreen July 03, 2018 at 22:49

    I don't agree with this idea. Doctor need time off to be with their families and to refresh themselves. They are doing a difficult job and it is hard to get young doctors to go into General Practice these days.
  • Posted by PID2 July 04, 2018 at 17:16

    Doctors would not be asked or expected to work longer hours and could have as much time at home with their families and rest as they need. In fact the long shifts worked by Doctors at the Hospital are unfair and unrealistic in my opinion. Who wants to be seen by a tired stressed out Doctor. who wants to be a tired stressed out Doctor , no-one. Recruit more GP's to work a 7 day a week working pattern as they do in the hospitals without the long hours.
  • Posted by castlearcher July 05, 2018 at 21:06

    Remember that GP surgeries are independent businesses not NHS employees who can be rostered. They currently receive £120 per patient per year which is 20% less than England. They are currently open for 50 hours per week so moving to 7am to 7pm everyday is a 68% increase in opening hours. What about overheads? Extra staff or staff overtime? MEDS is costed at £10 per patient per year so that funding won’t be enough. Remember also that the pharmacies, X-ray dept and blood clinic will be closed during these extended hours. In business there is always a trade off between cost, quality and convenience. Currently 85% people satisfied with GP availability as it is. If we want truly coceierge convenient access to a high quality routine GP service then it won’t be cheap. Remember that there is 24/7 access to an emergency GP via MEDS out of hours or your usual GP during the working week.
  • Posted by BallaDoc July 06, 2018 at 17:10

    I'm a GP and I already work 8am-6pm most weekdays plus 1-2 shifts a week at MEDS. If my hours were extended to 7am-7pm 7 days a week I wouldn't work them - I would just go part time or retire to spend more time with my family. I don't spend enough time with my family as it is. I appreciate the difficulty working people have in getting to doctors' appointments in working hours, but the solution to that is not to make doctors work longer hours than everyone else - it's for employers to be more flexible about giving employees time off during the working day for medical appointments.
  • Posted by CLB July 06, 2018 at 22:42

    There's definitely a balance to find here - better access for the public (including modern, working families) to GPs while ensuring GP practices can function.

    Perhaps GP practices could consider changes like more flexible working for their staff, merging practices to reduce overheads, becoming salaried etc. In order to meet the needs of the population while maintaining their own work/life balance.
  • Posted by ClairIOMGov July 11, 2018 at 08:48

    Doctor surgeries don't have enough appointments - impossible to see a doctor within a week if not an emergency.

    [Feedback received through offline engagement (4 star rating attributed) - Site moderator]
  • Posted by ClairIOMGov July 11, 2018 at 09:46

    The NHS is a great service but there is a problem with GP appointments.

    I have to ring at 08:30am to get an “emergency” appointment, otherwise, you have to wait two weeks for an appointment. All appointments have gone by 09:30am.

    [Feedback received through offline engagement and four star rating attributed - Site moderator]
  • Posted by acampbell July 25, 2018 at 11:25

    The more flexible access to G.P.'s would ensure that illness's can be diagnosed earlier.
    Nurses at my G.P.'s are excellent. (Hailwood)
  • Posted by IK July 25, 2018 at 17:40

    GPs reading this should note that this idea is not suggesting you, as individuals, work longer hours, but that GP numbers are increased to provide the additional hours the public need.
  • Posted by LucyLu August 01, 2018 at 22:01

    Longer opening times, more doctors. This all just makes seeing a ‘family’ GP, having that continuous care, personal relationship, follow on and up care, which the Medical Council says is being lost to the detriment of health care and the patient, sadly is taken further away from us.
    Access to current GP service appointments can be frustrating.
    It’s a bit like more roads don’t actually ease congestion.
    Manndoc works well, takes the overflow for all surgeries in one place.
  • Posted by PhilIOMGov August 03, 2018 at 09:57

    Focus groups and workshops are being arranged to consider key aspects of the review in more detail. A cross-section of the local community is needed to represent views from different perspectives. If you would like to participate in a workshop related to this topic please contact the Independent Review’s Secretariat at DHSCReview@gov.im to be added to a contact list. The focus groups and workshops will support the overall gathering of evidence and be used to determine a practical and workable model for the future.
  • Posted by NCarter August 05, 2018 at 09:17

    Agree in principle, in practice, not sure it would work.
    Better to have more practice nurses to filter repeat visits for basic tests, so gps can have more “emergency “ appointments.
    Charging for missed appointments may help.
  • Posted by ManxMog August 05, 2018 at 11:41

    Personally, I think it unfair. Gps and staff have a home life too, unless a gp practice wants to extend, mine is already open 8 to 6pm.
    The gps, nurses and admin staff work long and hard enough (but may suit some employees).
    I'm not a employee of a gp practice but in my local surgery never ever had a problem getting an appointment whether a regular or emergency.
    The receptionists are excellent and never have i been refused an appointment, mind you, I've never abused the system saying it's an emergency when it isnt.
  • Posted by Nicola2IOMGov September 11, 2018 at 20:05

    It is not acceptable to have to wait 3-4 weeks to get a doctor's appointment.

    [Feedback received through offline engagement - site moderator]
Log in or register to add comments and rate ideas