charges for wasted appointments

Patients not attending appointments and wasting the space could be charged

Why the contribution is important

This will encourage full use of clinical appointments and reduce the waiting times for hospitals and GP services

by Hospitals on June 28, 2018 at 02:12PM

Current Rating

Average rating: 3.5
Based on: 12 votes

Comments

  • Posted by noreen June 28, 2018 at 15:17

    also include charges for attending A & E for self inflicted drunkenness
  • Posted by ClairIOMGov June 29, 2018 at 21:20

    Charge patients who DNA (do not attend)

    Charge patients a fixed fee if they DNA (do not attend) appointments

    Why the contribution is important:
    It may deter patients from missing scheduled appointments/encourage patients to attend, which in turn would cut down on wasted appointment slots, cut down on costs of wasting professionals time, cut down on waiting lists. Also provide a source of additional funding for services

    [Added by moderator as moved from same/similar post]
  • Posted by hurley June 30, 2018 at 19:24

    I received appointment date for eye consultation and realised I was going to be "off island" on the date scheduled. Rather than telephone for an alternative date I went up to eye reception desk at Nobles to advise them of situation. Was told OK and would be written to for new date. Attended 3 months later for new appointment and was told my initial scheduled appointment was classified as a "DNA ", so obviously had not been used by another patient and under this suggestion I would face a charge for the miss-classified "DNA".

     NOT GOOD !!!!
  • Posted by Frantic7 July 01, 2018 at 22:13

    Patients should definitely charged for not turned up for off Island Appointments without really good reasons. Flights are so expensive, taxi's booked and yet people sometimes don't turn up.
  • Posted by JB July 02, 2018 at 09:09

    I agree a charge should be made, to try to stop this happening. It is a waste of doctors and admin staff time, and is not fair when others can't get appointments who need them urgently.
  • Posted by BallaDoc July 06, 2018 at 17:14

    I'm a GP and actually it doesn't bother me when the occasional patient doesn't turn up. I just use the time to do paperwork or catch up if I'm running a bit late. I don't think charging patients for missed appointments would be useful.
  • Posted by Nab July 10, 2018 at 20:12

    From what I've read, the hospital would need to improve the organisation its of appointment system before it could start charging anyone.
  • Posted by acampbell July 25, 2018 at 11:27

    Totaaly agree with this option.
  • Posted by LucyLu August 01, 2018 at 22:44

    In principle it’s a good idea, wasting valuable time. But how you would actually enforce it is another matter, where to draw a line. Every excuse in the world would come out from Bus didn’t turn up to babysitter let me down. More time, administration cost and resources trying to collect than actually gaining
  • Posted by agincourt August 01, 2018 at 22:54

    Some people don't attend appointments because they don't understand what the appointment is for - often given nothing in writing other than the appointment time and the name of the test. Also - the system of only sending letters, rather than an email or a reminder text can mean people miss appointments because they don't have an easy place to find their appointments. If you're sent a letter - then you've just got one piece of paper which is not how most of us manage our lives now.
  • Posted by PhilIOMGov August 03, 2018 at 09:58

    Focus groups and workshops are being arranged to consider key aspects of the review in more detail. A cross-section of the local community is needed to represent views from different perspectives. If you would like to participate in a workshop related to this topic please contact the Independent Review’s Secretariat at DHSCReview@gov.im to be added to a contact list. The focus groups and workshops will support the overall gathering of evidence and be used to determine a practical and workable model for the future.
  • Posted by rosaliemscott August 04, 2018 at 08:24

    When sending text reminders, please say which clinic the reminder is about. Also I do think appointments missed for other than really unavoidable reasons should be charged for.
  • Posted by hurley August 04, 2018 at 14:55

    I agree with GP above, BallaDoc, as when analysed in my previous GP's practice, its 120 missed appointments per month when spread over 20 working days and 4/5 doctors and 1/2 nurses amounts to 6 missed appointments per working day OR 1 missed appointment per doctor/nurse per day.
    I suggest its a welcome 10 minute break in each persons working day to catch up with other work related things !!!!

    ITS ALL OVER_BLOWN IN MY OPINION !!!!!!

    P.S.-

    Please note my current GP practice operates the following POSSIBLE sanction :-

    If a patient misses 3 appointments this GP Practice MAY strike off the patients's name from its patient records , forcing them to go elsewhere . Tough sanction , I think , and don't necessarilly agree with this option. I don't know if they have ever enforced this sanction, perhaps the threat alone works for them.
  • Posted by Nicola2IOMGov August 16, 2018 at 09:44

    My wife has missed several consultants appointments - why?

    Because Nobles is in the dark ages, and insists on sending posted notifications of appointments.

    We travel a lot, and frequently we come home to find a letter advising my wife of an appointment for a week or more gone.

    Why does Nobles insist on not using email!
  • Posted by Nicola2IOMGov August 16, 2018 at 09:58

    The above comment was added by a site moderator from Feedback received through offline engagement.
Log in or register to add comments and rate ideas